Il Lamento di Arianna

Il Lamento di Arianna
per mezzosoprano e orchestra

Composed: 1908/2012 [Respighi – Edited by Di Vittorio]
Published: 2012, Panastudio/Casa Ricordi (Universal Music) Panastudio/Casa Ricordi (Universal Music)
Orchestra: 3,3,0,2;0,3,3,1;hp;str; mezzo-soprano
Duration: 8 min.

World Premiere
1908, Berlin Philharmonic; A. Nikisch, conductor

To Be Announced
For other premieres of this work, visit: Performances

Commissioned by the Respighi Family and Archive
Respighi’s great nieces Elsa Pizzoli Mazzacane & Gloria Pizzoli Mangini, and archive curator/cataloger Potito Pedarra, for the Chamber Orchestra of New York.
Program Notes/Il Programma
The Lamento di Arianna (Ariadne’s Lament) was world premiered in 1908 by the Berlin Philharmonic under conductor Artur Nikisch. Not to be mistaken with other Monteverdi works of the same name, this Lamento is the only extant music from Monteverdi’s lost second opera “Arianna”. Monteverdi later used the music including the now famous “lasciatemi morire” motif in three other works of the same name, including the well-known madrigal Lamento di Arianna which is part of his Madrigals Book VI.

Respighi’ masterful orchestration of Lamento is here restored and edited by Salvatore Di Vittorio.