Works – Venere e Adone

Venere e Adone

per piccola orchestra

Venere e AdoneComposed: 2014
2014, Panastudio/Casa Ricordi (Universal Music)
Orchestra: 1,1-1,1,1; 2,1,0,0; 1perc; hp; str
Duration: 8 min.

World Premiere
May 15-16, 2016; Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia; Dirk Brossé & Salvatore Di Vittorio – conductors; Perelman Theater/Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts
To Be Determined
For other premieres, visit: Performances
Per la Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia

Program Notes/Il Programma

Poema Sinfonico. Pavana.
Secondo Movimento della Sinfonia No. 4 “Metamorfosi”. Ispirata dalla pittura Venere e Adone di Tiziano Vecellio.

Venus and Adonis
was originally conceived as the second movement of SinfoniaN. 4 “Metamorfosi”. The symphony as a whole highlights the magical stories in Ovid’s Metamorphoses, with each of the three movements drawing inspiration from an Italian painting related to the stories: The Triumph of Bacchus by Ciro Ferri, Venus and Adonis by Tiziano Vecellio, and Aeneas Escapes from Troy by Federico Barocci. This single movement Venus and Adonisis a pavane for orchestra, primarily based on Titian’s masterful painting. Centering on Venus’ loving attempt to keep Adonis from his fatal hunt, the music follows in the tradition of pavanes by well-known composers such as Maurice Ravel’s Pavanefor a Dead Princessand Gabriel Fauré’s Pavane.
World Premiere: Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia, Salvatore Di Vittorio-conductor, Perelman Theater/Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts, May 16, 2016